Pages Menu
TwitterFacebook
Categories Menu

All Reviews

OurReviews

As we mentioned, we’re in the Italian restaurant game to put a smile on people’s faces (and some extremely tasty pizza and pasta in their tummies!). Here’s what our customers have said about their time spent here:

We haven't been to the Olive Press for a while but went for lunch last Friday and went for The Italian Burger Offer which cost £40 for two with a bottle of wine included. What fantastic value it was. Everything was beautifully cooked and fun to eat. The Quattro garlic bread was light and fluffy and the four flavours were delicious. My husband had the classic Italian burger cooked pink and I had the chicken milanese. We really enjoyed both of them and almost couldn't believe that we got dessert thrown in as well. The staff are friendly and attentive without being obtrusively so and one of the waiters even remembered us having a family birthday there a few years ago! We love the Olive Press.

Susanne H  April 18, 2015

Went with hubby for my birthday lunch. Was greeted at bar by friendly lady and told to take a seat whilst she went to see if our table was ready. Shown to our table only minutes later. I had chicken risotto and hubby had game pizza. Very very tasty food. Just a small potion though. However the service was excellent. The restaurant itself very clean and modern. Had a good time. Will go again.

Gabbyalex1  April 4, 2015

I visited Olive Press at the persuasion of a friend, as I thought being a student it would be too classy for my price range. A group of 10 of us were met at the door and seated quickly once we'd all arrived. The atmosphere was warm, even though it was early evening and the restaurant was relatively empty. Staff were polite and friendly.

We chose from the pasta and pizza menu because it was half price through January. I had the pulled pork calzone and definitely would again. As a student there's a tendency to value quantity over quality, but this hit both the marks, even at the full price of about 11 or 12 quid. It was well cooked without being stodgy, like calzone sometimes is, and was stuffed full. Other's pizzas looked fantastic too.

There were plenty of staff running around, and while they weren't chatty, nor were they cold or impolite. The place began to fill up, including another big party but we were attended to promptly.

This place gets the 4 stars on grounds that the atmosphere was good and the food was amazing at a good price. I can't comment on the other parts of the menu, but it looked classy and there was a brasserie upstairs for posh dos I think.

Upshot: Next time you want to go out for dinner and settle on a High St chain pizza restaurant, come here instead. You'll get way better fare in a far more genuine place for a fraction extra and without the High St chain machine run attitude.

BritishRayster  March 28, 2015

I attended for a family birthday celebration and we were all very well looked after and the food was excellent. The service was very attentive and quick. No complaints, would certainly use again.

waldorf53  March 21, 2015

We had a nice meal here on Saturday night. Two 'planks' (bread and fish) for starters were lovely and plenty for four adults. My spaghetti carbonara was delicious as was the spicy American pizza according to my wife. The shared tiramisu for pudding was also very enjoyable. Although the restaurant was pleasantly busy the service was good throughout the evening.

ajk1994  March 17, 2015

Found this place when looking for somewhere to treat son who is a student in Preston. Staff attentive but not overpowering, we explained we were short of time and they made sure we were served promptly. Food was excellent, seafood platter starter, then we had blue cheese burger, black pudding and meatball pizza and pesto chicken pasta, all excellent. Will certainly be back.

Rob J  March 10, 2015

Lovely light lunch at this restaurant - one of the best vegetarian boards ever. Great service - lovely staff! Will be back next time we're in Preston.

Houli2  March 1, 2015

Our daughter got us a voucher for the Lancashire night menu, I can honestly say this was the BEST MEAL we have ever had and we have dined at a micelin star restaurant in VEGAS. The two girls that attended to us were very polite and helpful would definitely say " BEST YET".

ColinG193  March 1, 2015

I have been coming here to meet with different friends for quite a while. Mostly this is because the location in the attractive Winckley Square Preston is convenient for each of us to travel to either by train or by car depending on the weather. However, it is worth noting also that the food is reliably fresh and good quality. The ‘Sharing planks’ are just right both in terms of amount and tastiness.

Lavarcham  February 26, 2015

I dined here with my family in early February having eaten here before and I always know the food and service are consistently good!

After being seated in a comfortable and spacious booth we ordered our drinks and some garlic breads to share whilst we decided on what to eat from the range of delicious Italian dishes.

2 of us settled for Chicken Risotto - YUM, the other 2 - Italian burgers.

The burger was cooked perfectly, juicy and packed full of flavour. the pesto mayo was a definite favourite!!
Chicken risotto was gorgeous, very generous portion which is brilliant value for money.

Stuart the manager on duty was attentive and very polite and friendly and is a credit to The Olive Press.

I would recommend The Olive Press in a heartbeat to anyone who wanted a delicious meal in preston with faultless service.

Emmapreston1  February 25, 2015

We arrived about 7 pm on a Sunday, so weren't surprised to find it quiet. The food has always been decent and not too expensive. We will be back

Louise N  February 22, 2015

Arranged to meet a couple of friends for an evening meal last Friday. We arrived earlier than expected and were shown to an area where we had a drink from the bar whilst waiting for our friends. Once they arrived we had another drink before being asked if we wanted to go to our table. All four of us chose to have the 'Beef Wellington & Prosecco'. After a bruschetta starter we had a beautiful Beef Wellington accompanied by tomato, mushroom and courgette fritters. A couple of 'chocolate pots' and coffees to finish. Service was very good, attentive, but not in our faces, atmosphere was great. Definitely recommend for a nice evening and will be trying the Brasserie soon.

Keith M  February 22, 2015

What a lovely experience! A coffee on arrival and then we were ushered to a separate room where we sat around a cooking station. Chef Noller cooked 5 dishes for us and we tasted each one. The fresh pasta and foraged mushrooms were gorgeous! The chocolate pot - before and after refrigeration - was delicious! Then it was onto the wine tasting. Prosecco, white wine, red wine and muscat - a joy! Our orders for lunch were taken and we headed down to the Olive Press for our three course lunch. Olive Press platter with garlic bread, our choice of three mains (from the master class) and a rich chocolate pot. We opted for the wine package - three wines matched to each course - £12 each for 3 large 175ml glasses. We were so full! Thank you for a lovely experience and we can't wait for the next one!

J C  February 21, 2015